Affiliates

Dr Kate Bagnall
University of Tasmania
Email: kate.bagnall@utas.edu.au
Research interests: legal histories of migration and citizenship; the White Australia Policy and Chinese restriction; overseas Chinese family life; Chinese in colonial Australasia

Dr Amanda Harris
University of Sydney
Email: amanda.harris@sydney.edu.au
Research Interests: Australian cultural history, histories of music and dance, cultural heritage and archives, settler colonial and Indigenous histories, gender and women’s history

Dr Rohan Howitt
University of Sydney
Email: rohan.howitt@sydney.edu.au
Research Interests: History of Australian imperialism; history of colonialism in Antarctica and the Southern Ocean; Global history; environmental history

Dr Frances Steel
University of Otago, New Zealand
Email: fsteel@uow.edu.au
Research interests: Settler colonial sub-imperialisms in the Pacific, oceanic mobilities, networks of commodity exchange, ships and port towns as sites of colonial encounters and consumption

Dr Jodie Stewart 
Casual UOW Lecturer and Tutor
Email: jodies@uow.edu.au
Research Interests: Aboriginal history, settler historiography, settler colonialism, place, mobility and walking, public history

Dr Claire Wright
Macquarie University
Email: claire.e.wright@mq.edu.au
Research Interests: Australian history, economic history, global history, intellectual history, settler colonial societies

If you would like to be affiliated with the Centre for Colonial and Settler Studies, get in touch with us at clowrie@uow.edu.au.