Members

LHA Faculty Staff and Honorary Staff members

Dr Kate Bagnall
BA Hons, PhD (University of Sydney)
Website: www.katebagnall.com
Twitter: @baibi
Research interests: Chinese Australian history, women’s history, digital history

Dr Andre Brett
Email: andre_brett@uow.edu.au

Dr Jane Carey (co-Director)
BA Hons, BSc, PhD (University of Melbourne)
Email: jcarey@uow.edu.au
Research interests: Settler colonialism, Australian colonial history, comparative and transcolonial histories, women’s history, biopolitics, Indigenous histories

Associate Professor Georgine Clarsen
Email: georgine@uow.edu.au

Dr Vicki Crinis
BA(Hons) University of Wollongong, PhD University of Wollongong
Email: vcrinis@uow.edu.au
Research interests: Colonial Malaya, history of trafficking women and girls, League of Nations and trafficking, feminism, internationalism and human rights

Dr Sharon Crozier-De Rosa
Email: sharoncd@uow.edu.au

Associate Professor Tanja Dreher
BA (University of Sydney), MA Journalism (UTS), Advanced Diploma in Applied Aboriginal Studies (Tranby), PhD (University of Western Sydney)
Email: tanjad@uow.edu.au
Website: https://tanjadreher.net/
Twitter: @TanjaDreher
fb: Listening for Media Justice
Research interests: the politics of listening, First Nations media, racism and anti-racism, Islamophobia, intersectional feminisms

Dr Michael R. Griffiths
BA Hons (University of Western Australia), MA, PhD (Rice University)
Email: mickg@uow.edu.a
Website: https://uow.academia.edu/MichaelRGriffiths
Research interests: Settler colonial studies, Australian literature, Indigenous literatures

Dr Cecilia Leong-Salobir
BA Hons (UWA), DipEd (UWA), PhD (UWA)
Email: cecilias@uow.edu.au

Dr Claire Lowrie 
PhD (University of Wollongong)
Email: clowrie@uow.edu.au
Research interests: History of colonialism and labour in the Asia-Pacific region; global and transnational history; history of imperialism

Associate Professor Julia Martínez
BA, DipEd (Melbourne), BA Hons (Wollongong), PhD (Wollongong)
Email: juliam@uow.edu.au

Professor Ian McLean
Email: imclean@uow.edu.au 

Dr Lisa Slater
BA Hons (Sydney University), BA Comm (Canberra University), MA (Sydney University),  PhD (Sydney University)
Email: lslater@uow.edu.au
Website: http://lha.uow.edu.au/hsi/contacts/UOW125658.html
Research interests: Settler colonialism; gender, race and place; emotions and settler belonging; Indigenous cultural production and the cultural interface; cultural theory and cultural studies

Associate Professor Frances Steel (co-Director)
BA, PGDip (Otago), PhD (ANU)
Email: fsteel@uow.edu.au
Research interests: Settler colonial sub-imperialisms in the Pacific, oceanic mobilities, networks of commodity exchange, ships and port towns as sites of colonial encounters and consumption

Dr Marcelo Svirsky
Email: msvirsky@uow.edu.au 
Research interests: settler colonial theory, comparative settler colonialism, Israel/Palestine, subjectivity studies

Professor Simon Ville
BA Hons (University College London), PhD (University College London)
Email: sville@uow.edu.au
Website: https://scholars.uow.edu.au/display/simon_ville
Research interests: Australian and international economic and business history, comparative economic development, and international business

 

UOW Associate Members

Dr Claire Wright
Email: clairew@uow.edu.au
Research Interests: Australian history, economic history, global history, intellectual history, settler colonial societies