Affiliates

Dr Kate Bagnall
University of Tasmania
Email: kate.bagnall@utas.edu.au
Research interests: legal histories of migration and citizenship; the White Australia Policy and Chinese restriction; overseas Chinese family life; Chinese in colonial Australasia

Dr André Brett 
Curtin University
BA Hons and PhD (University of Melbourne)
Email: Andre.Brett@curtin.edu.au
Website: andrebrett.com
Research interests: New Zealand and Australian history, with an emphasis on political, environmental, economic, and transport themes; also, genocide studies, higher education history, global railway history

Dr Amanda Harris
University of Sydney
Email: amanda.harris@sydney.edu.au
Research Interests: Australian cultural history, histories of music and dance, cultural heritage and archives, settler colonial and Indigenous histories, gender and women’s history

Dr Rohan Howitt
Australian National University
Email: Rohan.Howitt@anu.edu.au
Research Interests: History of Australian imperialism; history of colonialism in Antarctica and the Southern Ocean; Global history; environmental history

Dr Frances Steel
University of Otago, New Zealand
Email: fsteel@uow.edu.au
Research interests: Settler colonial sub-imperialisms in the Pacific, oceanic mobilities, networks of commodity exchange, ships and port towns as sites of colonial encounters and consumption

Dr Jodie Stewart 
Casual UOW Lecturer and Tutor
Email: jodies@uow.edu.au
Research Interests: Aboriginal history, settler historiography, settler colonialism, place, mobility and walking, public history

Dr Claire Wright
University of Technology Sydney
Email: Claire.Wright@uts.edu.au
Research Interests: Australian history, economic history, global history, intellectual history, settler colonial societies

PhD Student Affiliates

Anna Dunn
The University Sydney
Email: Anna.dunn@sydney.edu.au
Thesis title: ‘Rocky Relations: Aboriginal cultural heritage protection and recreational use in conservation areas’

Vanessa Whittington
Western Sydney University
Email: V.Whittington@westernsydney.edu.au
Thesis title: ‘Authenticities, deficits, transformations: visitor responses to Aboriginal cultural heritage in Australian protected areas’.
Website: https://westernsydney.academia.edu/VanessaWhittington

If you would like to be affiliated with the Centre for Colonial and Settler Studies, get in touch with us at clowrie@uow.edu.au.