Law & History Conference 2018

37th Annual Conference of the Australia and New Zealand Law and History Society

Exclusion, Confinement, Dispossession:
Uneven Citizenship and Spaces of Sovereignty
University of Wollongong, 10-12 December 2018 

Keynote Speakers 

Professor Audra Simpson, Columbia University

Associate Professor Angela Wanhalla, University of Otago

In 2018 the conference will be held adjacent to the Conference of the Law and Society Association of Australia and New Zealand (LSAANZ), which will run from 12-15 December, also in Wollongong. Our conferences will feature a joint keynote address from:

Professor Renisa Mawani, University of British Columbia

Plenary Speakers:
As. Prof. Penelope Edmonds (UTas); Dr Timothy Jones (La Trobe);
Crystal McKinnon (RMIT)

In the context of the humanitarian crisis on Manus Island, recent developments around marriage equality, Brexit, renewed US immigration restrictions, and the assertion of Indigenous sovereignty embodied in the Uluru Statement from the Heart, we invite submissions that reflect on the variety of ways that legal regimes have historically produced exclusion, confinement and dispossession. We particularly encourage papers that explore citizenship and sovereignty – and the changing legal contexts that have shaped these concepts over time.

Paper proposals might consider the following themes:

  • Indigenous sovereignty and treaties
  • Marriage, intimacy and intimate lives
  • Citizenship and the production of difference
  • Biopolitics
  • Slavery and Trafficking
  • Borders/Border crossings/Colonial (im)mobilities
  • Imprisonment/confinement/carceral spaces
  • Violence and violations

We are calling for proposals of both individual papers (20mins) and panels of either 3 or 4 speakers. Individual paper proposal should include an abstract of not more than 300 words and a 100-word biographical statement for each speaker. For panels, please also include a title and brief (300 word) rationale for the panel as a whole. Please send proposals to by 20 July 2018.

All presenters must be members of the Australia and New Zealand Law and History Society:

Postgraduate students currently enrolled in an Australian or New Zealand university (ONLY) may apply for a scholarship a to attend the conference. These (Kercher Scholarships) are awarded on the basis of merit through a process of application to the conference organisers.

Each scholarship is valued at AUD$500 and is a contribution towards the cost of an economy class airfare and / or accommodation. Recipients will also have the conference registration fee waived and will be awarded a year’s membership of the Society. Details can be found at

Conference Convenor: Jane Carey
Conference Committee:
Julia Martinez, Sharon Crozier-de Rosa and Diane Kirkby (ANZLHS liaison)

Hosted by the Centre for Colonial and Settler Studies, University of Wollongong